PJ Harvey will release her eighth studio album, White Chalk, October 2nd on Island Records.

Described by the NME as “Sparse sounds, spine-tingling pianos and vocals that bring a tear to the eye-in a good way,” White Chalk is a departure from previous PJ Harvey studio albums in that it was written on piano and does not feature her trademark electric guitar. White Chalk was produced by PJ Harvey with Flood and John Parish, the three of whom previously worked together on the GRAMMY-nominated To Bring You My Love and Is This Desire?, and includes musical contributions from Harvey’s long time associate Eric Drew Feldman, and Jim White from The Dirty Three.

PJ Harvey debuted four tracks from White Chalk at a sold out performance at the Manchester International Festival on July 7th and has confirmed two other UK one-off dates prior to coincide with record’s release: September 24th at Bristol’s Colston Hall and a long since sold-out show on September 29th at London’s Royal Festival Hall, her only confirmed London date this year.

The album will be preceded by the single “When Under Ether,” which will be released in the UK September 17th on 7″ vinyl and download, and will feature the B-side “Wait,” one of Harvey’s first ever recordings dating back to 1988.

The track listing for White Chalk is:
1. The Devil
2. Dear Darkness
3. Grow Grow Grow
4. When Under Ether
5. White Chalk
6. Broken Harp
7. Silence
8. To Talk To You
9. The Piano
10. Before Departure
11. The Mountain

For further information re: PJ Harvey, please contact Steve Martin or Amy Grote at nasty little man.
Tel: 212 343 0740 / email: amy@nastylittleman.com