Thom Yorke’s new project, Atoms For Peace, today released debut single ‘Default’. The single – the first ever Atoms For Peace studio recording – is available to download right now via iTunes and available to stream via

Thom has just posted the following statement at

You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms for Peace.

The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea.

We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing. Immersed in the area between the two… electronic and live.

The first tune we’d like you hear is Default

A 12″ vinyl version will follow next month and an album will eventually follow that next year.

The debut album from Atoms For Peace is set for release in 2013, also on XL Recordings. The record will feature Thom on vocals, guitars, keys and programming with support from Nigel Godrich (production & programming), Joey Waronker (drums), Mauro Refosco (percussion) and Flea (bass).