THE DEAD WEATHER¬†“Open Up (That’s Enough)” / “Rough Detective” 7-INCH (TMR 243)

Subscriptions Open Now through October 31st only at

Summer is turning to fall. Days are getting shorter, nights are getting longer. The smell of burning leaves and car tires fills the air and Third Man proudly preps its final Vault package for the 2013 calendar.

The LP this coming quarter is a stunning live recording of the Raconteurs live at the Ryman Auditorium. Recorded from their most recent spell of shows in September 2011, the set is chock-full of all the unforgettable original tunes (no covers!) that make this band so essential. Of particular import are the barnstorming, bring-the-house down versions of “Blue Veins” and “Carolina Drama” both clocking in at over ten minutes in length. You like horn sections? Then dig the crack team on “The Switch and the Spur” and “Many Shades of Black.” The band captured here hits the mark at full-throttle. Pressed on two LPs of 180-gram vinyl goodness, disc one on a rich rawhide and tobacco colored vinyl and disc two on luscious gold and oil colored vinyl.

The 7″ this go-round is incredibly special. Two BRAND NEW studio recordings from the Dead Weather. “Open Up (That’s Enough)” and “Rough Detective” are unlike anything else the band has ever done and are both ample reminders of the ferocity of this motley collection of low-lifes, grifters and ne’er-do-wells. These songs are not throw-aways. These songs are not demos. These songs are not outtakes. This 7″ will ONLY be available via Vault subscription. No other 7″ of these songs will be made. The whole thing is pressed on striking yellow jacket vinyl and coupled with a custom glue-pocket picture sleeve, a slight shift from the Vault’s usual die-cut company sleeves.

Is there more to come from this? Yes there is. The Dead Weather’s plan is to record and release two-song sets until 2015 at which time they will release a full album that contains these singles plus many more album-only tracks. It’s a unique long-term plan for new music from this incendiary group.¬†The songs WILL be released digitally, but not until Vault packages have been dispatched to subscribers. The goal is that physical copies are out there first.

Our bonus item here is a companion DVD of the Raconteurs performance from the Ryman Auditorium. The four camera, high-definition shoot includes the venue (the venerable Ryman, where everyone from Hank Williams to Harry Houdini has performed) as an essential character. There’s a reason why folks call the Ryman “the mother church” and we think this film illustrates the reasoning behind that precisely and pricelessly. To not only hear, but see the Raconteurs at their arguable zenith is a treat unparalleled.

Subscriptions are open now through October 31st only at

The Raconteurs Live at the Ryman Auditorium September 15, 2011 LP/DVD track list:

1. Consoler of the Lonely
2. Hands
3. Level
4. Old Enough
5. Top Yourself
6. Many Shades of Black
7. The Switch and the Spur
8. Intimate Secretary
9. Broken Boy Soldier
10. Blue Veins
11. Salute Your Solution
12. Steady, As She Goes
13. Carolina Drama

The Dead Weather 7″ single
“Open Up (That’s Enough)” and “Rough Detective”