THE DEAD WEATHER: “Open Up (That’s Enough)” / “Rough Detective”


January 14 will see the digital release of The Dead Weather’s two brand new studio recordings, “Open Up (That’s Enough)” and “Rough Detective.” Previously available exclusively through Third Man Records’ subscription-only Vault series as a limited edition yellow jacket colored vinyl 7″ in a custom glue-pocket picture sleeve, these roaring new tracks will be available to the general public digitally via iTunes and all other digital retailers.

In a unique long-term strategy, “Open Up (That’s Enough)” and “Rough Detective” are the first of a series of two-song sets The Dead Weather will be releasing up until 2015, at which time the singles–plus numerous other album-only tracks–will be collected into a full album. The songs will be released digitally, but not until TMR Vault packages containing the physical singles have been dispatched to subscribers.

More importantly, the “Open Up (That’s Enough)” / “Rough Detective” single is unlike anything else The Dead Weather has ever done before, while both songs serve as ample reminders of the ferocity of this motley collection of low-lifes, grifters and ne’er-do-wells.

Stay tuned to and for information about future releases.