Adeleye Omotayo


Watch Trailer 

Fresh off a world tour playing to over 1.5 million delighted fans across 24 countries, Gorillaz are kicking off 2023 with the highly anticipated release of brand new track ‘Silent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo’. Listen here

‘Silent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo’ is taken from the band’s upcoming new studio album Cracker Island and was the first track worked on by Gorillaz and eight-time Grammy Award-winning producer/multi-instrumentalist/songwriter extraordinaire Greg Kurstin at his studio in Los Angeles last year. Those early sessions revealed an evocative synth-led ‘80’s sound that ultimately set the tone for the album sonically. ‘Silent Running’ features vocalist and long-time Gorillaz performer Adeleye Omotayo, and has what Albarn describes as “… that sort of mesmerising dreamlike state you get in when you’re just following some train of thought.”

Gorillaz frontman 2D added – “Sometimes I get well lost and end up in the wrong place but then it turns out that’s where I was meant to be going anyway.”

The new single release comes ahead of an epic music video for ‘Silent Running ft Adeleye Omotayo’, directed by artist and Gorillaz co-creator Jamie Hewlett and the Emmy-nominated Nexus Studios director, Fx Goby, coming to a screen near you soon. Watch trailer here

Gorillaz will return to North America this Spring, with a full live band performance – to include surprise guests – at Coachella on Friday the 14th and Friday the 21st of April 2023. 

The brand new studio album from Gorillaz titled Cracker Island is out February 24th, 2023 on Warner Records.

Download High Res Press Shots HERE

Pre order Cracker Island here.

Notes For Editors


Cracker Island is the eighth studio album from Gorillaz, an energetic, upbeat,  genre-expansive collection of 10 new tracks featuring yet another stellar lineup of artist collaborators: Stevie Nicks, Adeleye Omotayo, Thundercat, Tame Impala, Bad Bunny and Bootie Brown and Beck. Recorded in London and LA earlier this year, it is produced by eight-time Grammy Award-winning producer/multi-instrumentalist/songwriter extraordinaire Greg Kurstin, Gorillaz and Remi Kabaka Jr.

Cracker Island – FULL TRACKLISTING: 

  1. Cracker Island ft. Thundercat
  2. Oil ft. Stevie Nicks
  3. The Tired Influencer
  4. Tarantula
  5. Silent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo
  6. New Gold ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown
  7. Baby Queen
  8. Tormenta ft. Bad Bunny
  9. Skinny Ape
  10. Possession Island ft. Beck


  • Digital Download (11 tracks)
  • Standard (10 tracks) CD incl Booklet and Poster, Black 12” Vinyl, Transparent Purple 12” Vinyl
  • Deluxe Vinyl Box (10 tracks) Lift Off Lid Box, Opaque Pink 12” Vinyl, CD, ‘Cracker Island’ 7” Etched Single with Alternative Single Art, The Last Cult Pink Pocket Notebook, 5x Art Prints, 1x Poster, 1x Sticker Sheet
  • Limited Edition Collectors Box (10 tracks) Limited Edition Numbered Product. Lift Off Lid Box, 10x Colored 7” Singles with Exclusive Screen Printed Character Art on the disc and Exclusive Art on every sleeve.
  • Cracker Island Cassettes (10 tracks) 4x Exclusive Character Art Cassettes

Created by musician Damon Albarn and artist Jamie Hewlett, Gorillaz is singer 2D, bassist Murdoc Niccals, drummer Russel Hobbs and Japanese guitar prodigy Noodle. The BRIT and Grammy-winning virtual band formed following a collision of mishaps, meetings and pure luck to blow up a pre-digital world with their colorful backstory and ground-breaking virtual ways. Based at Kong Studios in West London, Gorillaz settled into a life of musical innovation with an eye-wateringly exciting roster of collaborators, a list that includes musical legends, geniuses and future stars from Elton John to Little Simz, MF DOOM to Jean-Michel Jarre, Grace Jones to slowthai, Kali Uchis to Sidiki Diabaté, plus so many more. With seven albums to their name, Gorillaz (2001), Demon Days (2005), Plastic Beach (2010), The Fall (2011), Humanz (2017), The Now Now (2018) and Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez (2020), Gorillaz is a truly global phenomenon, achieving success in entirely new and unique ways, touring the world from San Diego to Syria, Montevideo to Manchester and winning numerous awards including the coveted Jim Henson Creativity Honor.

Singer and vocalist Adeleye Omotayo began his career singing in church aged 18. He went on to perform around pubs in North London where first met and became friends with Amy Winehouse, singing with her throughout her career and providing backing vocals on numerous releases including her seminal album ‘Back To Black’.  Omotayo has since featured on records by Kindness, Matthew Herbert, Mark Ronson, Quincy Jones and Gorillaz, touring the world with Damon Albarn and the Gorillaz live band with The Now Now Tour (2018) and Humanz Tour (2017-2018), as well as Song Machine Live (2020). He is one half of electronic duo Equals, whose debut album ‘1997’ was released in 2018.