‘SILENT RUNNING ft. Adeleye Omotayo’



Watch the late night misadventures of the world’s biggest virtual band unfold as Murdoc, Noodle and Russel solve the mystery of 2D’s disappearance, in the epic new music video for ‘Silent Running ft Adeleye Omotayo.’ Directed by artist and Gorillaz co-creator Jamie Hewlett and Emmy-nominated Nexus Studios director, Fx Goby. Watch here.

The “…mid-tempo funk gem” ‘Silent Running’ is the “…slinky new song” (Rolling Stone) taken from the band’s soon-to-released brand new studio album, and features vocalist and long-time Gorillaz collaborator Adeleye Omotayo.

The ‘Silent Running’ video made its broadcast premiere on MTV Live, MTVU, MTV Biggest Pop and on the Paramount Times Square billboards.

Originally based at Kong Studios in West London, early last year the group of musical misfits relocated to Silver Lake, California where their new mansion home in the hills proved to be the perfect base from which to recruit new members to join ‘The Last Cult’. Early reports from the Golden State indicated that The Great Leader AKA Murdoc is not only in love with the lady next door, but has a new scent, bottled as his own Divine Essence. Russel is glued to the TV in an effort to salvage some meaning from the static and save humanity, while Noodle is compiling a handbook of wisdom and knowledge. 2D is busy being 2D. With the band in search of the One Truth to fix the world (and Murdoc out to impress his neighbor), they are barrelling towards a prophesized day of reckoning called The Rupture. What this is, and the fate of the band itself, is revealed in the new ‘Silent Running’ video. 

 “So today is the new tomorrow?” asked Gorillaz drummer Russel Hobbs.

Murdoc Niccals said “Well, chuffing hell! What an emotional roller-coaster ride that was! I can see the headlines now: “Murdoc’s Bathwater Saves Humanity!” Always the plan tbh, just kept it under my hat until the big finish.”

Noodle added “The shadow of time is always following us. Nothing is forever. Those who fight it are doomed to lose.”

The original psychedelic video for title track ‘Cracker Island ft. Thundercat’ – which none of the band remember filming – took viewers on a late night journey into the City of Angels in a delirium of police lights and hallucinations, with Murdoc telling us to – “Think of it as the final scene in the movie, the bit after the grand finale when the hero (me) is about to stride into the sunset, credits rolling. That’s right, we’re starting at the end. Why? COS I WORK IN MYSTERIOUS WAYS.”  Watch it again HERE

Gorillaz will make a live return to North America this Spring to play Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival on Friday 14th and Friday 21st April 2023.

The brand new studio album from Gorillaz titled Cracker Island is out February 24th 2023 on Warner Records. 

Download High Res Press Shots HERE. 

Pre order Cracker Islandhere.

Notes For Editors

Cracker Island is the eighth studio album from Gorillaz, an energetic, upbeat,  genre-expansive collection of 10 tracks featuring yet another stellar lineup of artist collaborators: Stevie Nicks, Adeleye Omotayo, Thundercat, Tame Impala, Bad Bunny and Bootie Brown and Beck. Recorded in London and LA earlier this year, it is produced by eight-time Grammy Award-winning producer/multi-instrumentalist/songwriter extraordinaire Greg Kurstin, Gorillaz and Remi Kabaka Jr.

Cracker Island – FULL TRACKLISTING: 

  1. Cracker Island ft. Thundercat
  2. Oil ft. Stevie Nicks
  3. The Tired Influencer
  4. Tarantula
  5. Silent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo
  6. New Gold ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown
  7. Baby Queen
  8. Tormenta ft. Bad Bunny
  9. Skinny Ape
  10. Possession Island ft. Beck


  • Digital Download (11 tracks)
  • Standard (10 tracks) CD incl Booklet and Poster, Black 12” Vinyl, Transparent Purple 12” Vinyl
  • Deluxe Vinyl Box (10 tracks) Lift Off Lid Box, Opaque Pink 12” Vinyl, CD, ‘Cracker Island’ 7” Etched Single with Alternative Single Art, The Last Cult Pink Pocket Notebook, 5x Art Prints, 1x Poster, 1x Sticker Sheet
  • Limited Edition Collectors Box (10 tracks) Limited Edition Numbered Product. Lift Off Lid Box, 10x Coloured 7” Singles with Exclusive Screen Printed Character Art on the disc and Exclusive Art on every sleeve.
  • Cracker Island Cassettes (10 tracks) 4x Exclusive Character Art Cassettes

Created by musician Damon Albarn and artist Jamie Hewlett, Gorillaz is singer 2D, bassist Murdoc Niccals, drummer Russel Hobbs and Japanese guitar prodigy Noodle. The BRIT and Grammy-winning virtual band formed following a collision of mishaps, meetings and pure luck to blow up a pre-digital world with their colorful backstory and ground-breaking virtual ways. Based at Kong Studios in West London, Gorillaz settled into a life of musical innovation with an eye-wateringly exciting roster of collaborators, a list that includes musical legends, geniuses and future stars from Elton John to Little Simz, MF DOOM to Jean-Michel Jarre, Grace Jones to slowthai, Kali Uchis to Sidiki Diabaté, plus so many more. With seven albums to their name, Gorillaz (2001), Demon Days (2005), Plastic Beach (2010), The Fall (2011), Humanz (2017), The Now Now (2018) and Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez (2020), Gorillaz is a truly global phenomenon, achieving success in entirely new and unique ways, touring the world from San Diego to Syria, Montevideo to Manchester and winning numerous awards including the coveted Jim Henson Creativity Honor.

Nexus Studios is a global creative studio fostering world-class talent to produce high-quality longform and short form films, music videos, title identities and immersive experiences. With studios in London, LA and Sydney, they craft visually distinct narrative-led stories. Their prolific output includes collaborations with the likes of Billie Eilish, Tom Odell, J-Balvin, Coldplay, U2, Childish Gambino and more. Along with a BAFTA win, an Oscar and an Emmy nomination, they hold two Grammy nominations for the concert feature ‘Billie Eilish: Happier Than Ever’ and the music video ‘Take Me Out’ for Franz Ferdinand. Most recently Nexus Studios enlisted Oscar winning composer Gustavo Santaolalla to create the original score of their Netflix anthology ‘The House’.