DEPECHE MODE: Ghosts Again (Remixes), Out Now


Ghosts Again (Remixes)

Eight Unique Reinterpretations of Memento Mori Lead Single Out Now

Depeche Mode has released Ghosts Again (Remixes), a collection of Martin Gore and Dave Gahan-approved reinterpretations of the Billboard Hot Trending Songs #1 and AAA, Alternative and Rock top 10 charting single from the band’s universally acclaimed 15th studio album, Memento Mori (Columbia Records). Available now across digital platforms, Ghosts Again (Remixes) showcases myriad new dimensions of the “deliciously unfussy” (Pitchfork) Memento Mori lead single hailed for “its smoldering take on the fleeting qualities of time and the illusory nature of death” (Salon).

Ghosts Again (Remixes) finds some of the most exciting names in the electronic music space covering a diverse range of sonic terrain—from the melodic techno of rising star Massano to the big Berghain vibes of a collaboration between legends Chris Liebing and Luke Slater. “I have been a big fan of Depeche Mode for so many years. They have influenced the way that I think about music and DJ,” said Liebling. “I’m extremely grateful that I could not only do another remix, but that I also got to do it with one of the biggest legends in Techno world [Luke Slater].” Slater added, “When I was a kid I was buying Depeche Mode 7-inches, the early ones. I remember that well… What I love about Depeche Mode is that over the years they have just formed a world of  themselves… They’ve kind of covered this timeless zone and I think that’s really special”

On the leftfield front, Ghosts Again (Remixes) features a deep house version from Moroccan up-and-comer Bergsonist, as well as a moody take from Matthew Herbert, who commented, “I quite liked the idea of ‘we’ll be ghosts again’… everyone vanished from the dancefloor. The idea of the temporary community that’s being built.” The release also includes experimental remixes from Chris & Cosey collaborator Nik Colk Void, Rival Consoles and Miss Grit, as well as Davide Rossi who recorded strings for Memento Mori and contributes an ethereal strings-only version here. “I wanted to do this [remix] as a tribute to my love for the band,” Rossi said. “I am so thrilled that they decided to keep it and release it.”

The complete track listing for Ghosts Again (Remixes) is:
1. Ghosts Again Massano Remix
2. Ghosts Again Chris Liebing vs Luke Slater Remix
3. Ghosts Again Miss Grit Remix
4. Ghosts Again Rival Consoles Remix
5. Ghosts Again Matthew Herbert’s Feelings Remix
6. Ghosts Again Davide Rossi Strings Remix
7. Ghosts Again Bergsonist’s Shadow Mix
8. Ghosts Again Nik Colk Void Remix

“Ghosts Again” has been a nightly highlight of Depeche Mode’s current Memento Mori World Tour, receiving rapturous reactions from capacity crowds on every stop of the tour’s recently wrapped North American first leg—which has received unanimous raves, with select critical notices including:

“Gahan and Gore delivered the show their fans hungered for… The visuals to complement each track were haunting, vivid and surreal… could’ve gone on for a few more hours and the crowd of diehards would’ve signed up for it, no questions asked.” — Consequence

“Depeche Mode demonstrated the power of rebirth” — Sacramento Bee

“The Memento Mori Tour will offer Depeche Mode fans a moment to reflect on our collective mortality, remember the ones we have lost, and continue to celebrate life – a mission that is deftly in-tune with the current zeitgeist.” — Sacramento News & Review

“Darkly mesmerizing evening of music” — Mercury News

“Death-defying evening… a gutsy two-hour performance” — Los Angeles Times

“Depeche Mode deliver the latest and greatest in a thrilling show in Inglewood… Surely melancholy has never felt as a good as it did at the end of Depeche Mode‘s main set at the Kia Forum” — OC Register

“A Depeche Mode concert manages to straddle that line between digging deep into its four-decade catalog and not feeling like a legacy act… no signs of slowing down… When you’re timeless like them, there’s no reason for it to end.” — Variety

“’Ghosts Again’—a warm, mid-tempo charmer… nestled in amongst the band’s classics, as if a space had always existed for it.” — Las Vegas Weekly

“The band’s sound was just as big, a low-end rumble of keyboards and drums that could be felt as much as heard on the floor of the arena, with a pulse that hit you in the chest.” — San Antonio Express News

“Time continues to prove Depeche Mode one of the most influential and visionary groups in pop-music history… Gahan and Gore played with a passion, focus and spirit that suggested they knew their history was still being written.” — Chicago Tribune

“A beautiful, life-affirming display of a band that, 43 years in, still has so much left to give… Incredible” — Chicago Sun-Times

“Jubilant celebration… a deft balance between melancholy and joy which ran an emotional gamut.” — Forbes

“Dave Gahan and Martin Gore… bristled with vitality while facing mortality head-on” — Billboard

Depeche Mode is currently gearing up for the next phase of the Memento Mori World Tour, a run of Europe/UK stadium dates beginning May 16th in Amsterdam. The band will return to North America for the tour’s third leg, which kicks off September 21st with the first of a trio of shows at Mexico City’s Foro Sol stadium, and concludes with a series of four Los Angeles shows taking place December 10th and 12th at the Kia Forum and December 15th and 17th at the Arena.