Paul McCartney confirms brand new album title and reveals full tracklisting and artwork

‘Kisses On The Bottom’

Paul’s tribute to personal favorites & two new self penned compositions out February 7th

On December 19th 2011 Paul announced that February 2012 would see the release of his brand new studio album. Scores of fans then streamed the new original track ‘My Valentine,’ many assuming it would be the new record’s title track.  While a few Twitter hints have been dropped and rumors have run rampant, Paul puts an end to speculation today, confirming that the album will indeed be titled ‘Kisses On The Bottom’.

Paul has apparently had some fun with his choice of album title—while causing some confusion amongst those who have historically subjected his every move to microscopic scrutiny (with many fixating on an anatomical interpretation!). The phrase ‘Kisses On The Bottom,’ however, actually comes from the album’s opener ‘I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter’. Originally made a big hit by Fats Waller in 1935, the song opens with the lines ‘I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter and make believe it came from you.  I’m gonna write words oh so sweet.  They’re gonna knock me off of my feet.  A lot of kisses on the bottom, I’ll be glad I got ‘em’.

‘Kisses On The Bottom’ is a collection of standards Paul grew up listening to in his childhood as well as the two new McCartney compositions ‘My Valentine’ and ‘Only Our Hearts’.  With the help of Grammy Award-winning producer Tommy LiPuma and Diana Krall and her band—as well as guest appearances from Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder, McCartney’s new album is a deeply personal journey through classic American compositions that, in some cases, a young Paul first heard his father perform on piano at home.  The full tracklisting reveals that Paul has been both reverent and adventurous in his song choices.

Kisses On The Bottom – Full Tracklisting

Standard CD – 14 tracks

01. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter – 02:36
02. Home (When Shadows Fall) – 04:04
03.  It’s Only A Paper Moon – 02:35
04. More I Cannot Wish You – 03:04
05. The Glory Of Love – 03:46
06. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me) – 03:22
07. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive – 02:32
08. My Valentine – 03:14
09. Always – 03:50
10. My Very Good Friend The Milkman – 03:04
11. Bye Bye Blackbird – 04:26
12. Get Yourself Another Fool – 04:42
13. The Inch Worm – 03:43
14. Only Our Hearts – 04:21

Deluxe CD Album will feature two bonus tracks plus access to a download of the Capitol Studios show (available from Tuesday 14th February via, plus longer liner notes and expanded packaging featuring three postcards)

15.  Baby’s Request – 03:30
16.  My One And Only Love – 03:50

The album will also be available digitally.

The album was recorded at the legendary Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, New York and London throughout 2011.  It also features guest musicians Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder, respectively, on the original compositions  ‘My Valentine’ and ‘Only Our Hearts’.  Eric also appears on the track ‘Get Yourself Another Fool’.

The album artwork concept was conceived by Jonathan Schofield (Visual Director at Stella McCartney) and designed by Matthew Cooper (who has worked with artists such as Arctic Monkeys and Franz Ferdinand).  Paul was photographed by his daughter Mary McCartney for the album sleeve.

Stay tuned to Paul’s website for more exclusive album news in the coming weeks.