The Postal Service to Reunite in 2013

Give Up (Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition) Out in April via Sub Pop

Featuring Two Never Before Released Songs

Deluxe edition available on April 8 in UK & Europe and April 9 in North America

Watch “Such Great Heights” here

Sub Pop is thrilled to share the news that The Postal Service, the much-beloved, long-distance collaboration between Ben Gibbard and Jimmy Tamborello, will reunite this spring to celebrate the 10th anniversary and deluxe edition reissue of their universally acclaimed release, Give Up.  The Give Up Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition will include the original 10-track album along with 15 bonus tracks (including the 2 brand new songs “Turn Around” and “A Tattered Line of String,” a previously unreleased live recording, and every other official recording the band has ever released–as well as cover versions of Postal Service classics by The Shins and Iron & Wine) and was mastered by Grammy nominated engineers Emily Lazar and Joe Laporte. Give Up Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition will be available as a 2xCD, 3xLP and digitally on April 8 in the UK and Europe and April 9 in North America via Sub Pop. A very limited “Loser” edition of the 3xLP will be pressed on colored vinyl. Please find a complete tracklisting below.

The release of the Give Up Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition will also be commemorated by the first live Postal Service dates in a decade. Shows will be announced as they are confirmed. Check for further details as they become available.

Give Up was certified platinum last year just shy of 10 years from its original February 9, 2003 release. Led by the single “Such Great Heights,” the landmark album peaked at #114 on the Billboard Top 200 Chart and has sold 1,067, 087 copies in the US to date. After Nirvana’s BleachGive Up is the second-biggest selling album in Sub Pop’s nearly 25-year history.

Give Up, which Entertainment Weekly called a “near-perfect” album, is the first and only full-length by The Postal Service. The album received 2003 year-end praise from an array of publications, including SPINRolling Stone and theVillage Voice “Pazz & Jop” critics’ poll. Give Up also earned “Best of the Decade” status from Pitchfork, NPR, Complex,Paste, Under the Radar, and more.

Both Ben Gibbard and Jimmy Tamborello (as Dntel) recorded albums in 2012: Gibbard’s solo outing, Former Lives, was released via Barsuk Records last October; Dntel’s Aimlessness was released this past June on Pampa Records.

About The Postal Service:

You can spend all the time and money in the world trying to craft the perfect pop-music scenario, but sometimes the stars have to align all by themselves. Even though early on the members of The Postal Service jokingly referred to “Such Great Heights” as “the hit” on their debut album, Give Up, there’s no way anyone could have predicted the eventual impact made by a mail-order album designed in a pair of West Coast bedrooms. It’s been 10 years since the little project that could from Seattelite Ben Gibbard (also known as Death Cab For Cutie’s frontman) and Angeleno Jimmy Tamborello (Dntel, Figurine) emerged from seemingly nowhere and began to burrow its way into the ears of anyone who came into contact with the band’s infectious electro-pop (read more at Sub Pop).

Disc 1 (Original Album):

  1. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
  2. Such Great Heights
  3. Sleeping In
  4. Nothing Better
  5. Recycled Air
  6. Clark Gable
  7. We Will Become Silhouettes
  8. This Place Is a Prison
  9. Brand New Colony
  10. Natural Anthem

Disc 2 (New Tracks, Rarities, B-Sides, Remixes, Cover Versions, etc.):

  1. Turn Around
  2. A Tattered Line of String
  3. Be Still My Heart
  4. There’s Never Enough Time
  5. Suddenly Everything Has Changed
  6. Against All Odds (Take a Look At Me Now)
  7. Grow Old With Me
  8. Such Great Heights (John Tejada Remix)
  9. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight (DJ Downfall Persistent Beat Mix)
  10. Be Still My Heart (Nobody Remix)
  11. We Will Become Silhouettes (Matthew Dear Remix)
  12. Nothing Better (Styrofoam Remix)
  13. Recycled Air (Live on KEXP)
  14. We Will Become Silhouettes (Performed by The Shins)
  15. Such Great Heights (Performed by Iron and Wine)

# # #

For more information, please contact:

Steve Martin
Nasty Little Man
212-343-0740 or


Frank Nieto
Sub Pop Records
206.428.1335 or

Bekah Zietz
Sub Pop Records
206.428.1341 or